1 Peter · Exegesis of Light

walk in constant victory over sin!

I Peter 4:1-4  Forasmuch then as Christ hath suffered for us in the flesh, arm yourselves likewise with the same mind: for he that hath suffered in the flesh hath ceased from sin;That he no longer should live the rest of his time in the flesh to the lusts of men, but to the will of God.For the time past of our life may suffice us to have wrought the will of the Gentiles, when we walked in lasciviousness, lusts, excess of wine, revellings, banquetings, and abominable idolatries: Wherein they think it strange that ye run not with them to the same excess of riot, speaking evil of you:

The how to walk in power and constant victory over sin and all the negative expressions of the “flesh” is to “arm ourselves likewise with the same mind”! Selah

For this is the reality we reckon: In Jesus I suffered the wrath and justice of God…in Him I died, in Him the nature of sin was put to death. I shared in Jesus’s suffering, on the cross on account of sin; I share in His death and what it accomplished.

For by His suffering and death, Jesus made it possible for the influence of sin to no longer have impact on me. His Death accomplished the destruction of the nature of sin in me and delivered me from the narrative of victimhood and the influence of sin. Therefore because I suffered and died in Jesus, “I have ceased from sin”.

Selah

2 thoughts on “walk in constant victory over sin!

Leave a Reply

