Essence of the Season

How does the Cross save us?

The miracle of salvation is highlighted and clearly discerned in our union and identification with our savior Jesus Christ. It is to reckon as reality His substitutionary sacrifice and say with utmost conviction and full-fledged knowing that when He died, it was I who died; when He was buried, it was I who was buried; when he rose up from the grave unto newness of life in the glorious resurrection motif, it was I born again!

I believe this is the simplicity in Christ which unveils to the instructed the fullness of our calling in Jesus Christ. Glory to God!

Our exploration of the question: How does the cross save us?, brings us to the scripture writ in Hebrews 2: 14-15 Forasmuch then as the children are partakers of flesh and blood, he also himself likewise took part of the same; that through death he might destroy him that had the power of death, that is, the devil; And deliver them who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage.

And now we can see Revelations 1:18 clearly:

I am he that liveth, and was dead; and, behold, I am alive for evermore, Amen; and have the keys of hell and of death.

By His death, he destroyed him that had the power of death; that is the devil. He “destroyed” not in the sense of utterly annihilating and causing to cease to exist BUT in its proper rendering meaning to strip off ability to exert influence, that is to paralyze; to render powerless.

Today Satan has been rendered powerless. Jesus’s death ushered him into the bowels of hell. It was the highest gathering of all the forces of darkness; it was met with certain and devastating defeat. Our Lord Jesus subdued Lucifer and all his hosts. [Colossians 2:15 And having spoiled principalities and powers, he made a shew of them openly, triumphing over them in it.]

He spoiled all the hosts of darkness. They were no match for the sword that proceeded from His mouth. His words consumed them and subdued them!

In my identification with Jesus, I have wrought that selfsame thing towards Lucifer and all His hosts. Today I say I have defeated all the hosts of darkness in Christ Jesus. Hallelujah! The devil is beneath my feet. Now when I open my mouth to speak, Lucifer and all of hell shudders in fearful anticipation of what I am about to speak. He knows what my words are capable of – he saw it demonstrated by Jesus. Glory to God! O what swell of words enormous in tide fill my heart as I meditate on that epic victory of man-in-Jesus over Lucifer.

O that many will come to know the prince of darkness was paralyzed over 2000 years ago; he is beneath my feet! He is a slave to my words! Glory!

Hebrews 2:15 And deliver them who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage.

This he accomplished for me!
This I accomplished in Him!
And then by the power of the Holy Spirit He rose up from death in the dazzling splendor of the resurrection…and I in Him! I am born again! Selah

The cross took the old man and crucified him in Jesus; buried him in Jesus and raised up the new creation in Christ by the power of the resurrection! O that many will reckon these truths and walk in the brightness of its light!

Romans 6:3-4 Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death? Therefore we are buried with him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.

Selah!

Leave a Reply

