Colossians

The King’s Mandate

That ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God;
[Colossians 1:10]

This is the outcome we must all come to – “walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing….being fruitful in every good work…”

I align my desires with Scripture here. I submit myself to the word of His Grace and the tutelage of the Holy Spirit…I crucify self daily; I put on the new man daily; I walk in the manifest fragrance of Love daily, I choose to be patient and kind….always seeing through the lenses of Agape…I offer myself totally to the King.  I am fully enlisted into his service! Selah

We should consider that word – service – in the light of this verse. He says “being fruitful in every good work”. We are called to function as the Lord’s workmanship to execute the purposes of the King in a time and place like this. He says “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them” [Ephesians 2:10]. Good  works – this means expressions of righteousness and agape. This also captures our stewardship of his manifold Grace and our diligent service in the body of Christ.

For each of us is called to function in a particular capacity within the body. It is our duty to find out and fulfil that office. It is the King’s mandate that we be fruitful. Selah

Leave a Reply

